What Are You Thankful For This Holiday Season?


Happy Thanksgiving

This marks the sixth year without my brother around for Thanksgiving.  Six years ago, on Thanksgiving, he was in a hospital after being diagnosed with cancer.  Less than a month later, we lost him.  I obviously don’t want you to start out your Thanksgiving with a grim story about my brother but be patient, I am about to share just how thankful I am for the last few years.

While I am miss my brother and I hate that this is the sixth Thanksgiving without him, I am grateful for everything that has happened since his death.

I am thankful because I knew someone so kind and wonderful.

I am thankful that I ended a bad marriage and learned to stand on my own two feet.

I am thankful for two very happy and healthy children.

I am thankful for my health, even though it is not as great as I would like it be. It is better than I expected after almost 8 years living with RA and fibromyalgia.

I am thankful to be employed at a job I love and to work for two great people.

I am thankful for the people that supported my emotional health after my brother died.

I am thankful for the wisdom I have gained over the past several years.

I am thankful to be turning 40 next month.

I am thankful that my mother is still around.

I am thankful for my belief in the Almighty.

I am thankful that there is still good in this world despite all the bad.

Mostly, I am thankful because my brother didn’t care for Thanksgiving and hated turkey, because it makes me smile at his memory.  Tomorrow, I am going to make a roast in his honor because that is what he would have eaten for Thanksgiving if he were alive.

I am also thankful for all of you! Have a safe and happy holiday season!

Please share all the things you are thankful for this holiday season.

This entry was posted in Acceptance, Thankful Thursday, Thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Are You Thankful For This Holiday Season?

  1. I am most thankful for the love and I support I receive from the RA community and wonderful bloggers like you that have the courage to share their challenges and victories with the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

