Posted in Life in general, Motherhood, rheumatoid arthritis

Where Did 2014 Go?


I have not blogged here in quite some time.  Life has kept me busy as possible.  I am having a hard time figuring out where the year has gone. One day it was a January 1, now we are close to Dec. 31. I even just realized we are only a week away from Thanksgiving.

Of late, my life has resembled some sense of normal.  I moved to a bigger place and my sister and her kids moved in with me.  Other than that, life is just moving along.  I have thought about finding a job closer to home because I am starting to get worn out from my long drive.  I have been thinking about finishing one of the books I have written and I have also been pondering the future. I have been in touch with my daughters – one is now married, another engaged to be married and the other talking about college.

My RA haven’t been in the best place lately. The weather has gotten cold quickly here in NE Ohio and I have been in the worst kind of pain. My pain seems to be worse on my left side. It was so bad last week and I had my wrist and hand wrapped because I needed to support to do my job.  We are getting a few warm days coming up but then it is back to cold temps before Thanksgiving.  I am sure most of you in the states are dealing with the same situation and I am sure your pain has been just as bad. Old man winter ticked off early this winter.

The boys are doing well. My oldest, age 14, plays the role of the rude teenage quite well.  Sometimes, I wonder if he thinks that it is a requirement to play that role.  My six year old – a first grader – has been struggling with behavior issues at school and at home. He is a very bright child and does extremely well in school but the behavior is hard to understand.  He struggles with the fact his father is rarely around. I think it has been over five weeks since he has seen or heard from his father.  I don’t know what to do about the issue.  I wish he (the father) would just stay away if he is going to see his son once every 1 to 2 months or longer.

And I am still wondering what happened to 2014? And figuring out what my plan for 2015.  I just know 2014 has forced me to see life quietly and purely and I am really good with that.  Yes, there were and are some tough moments, especially with my health, but no one is immune from hard times.  I hope all of you have a blessed and warm Thanksgiving.  Enjoy the holiday season.

4 thoughts on “Where Did 2014 Go?

  1. Wishing you a lovely holiday season. Stay warm, be kind to yourself on those bad days. Hope the New Year brings you the creative energy you need to get back to writing and your health improves with each new day. Cheers.

  2. Really glad to hear from you, Lana–I’ve missed you. I hope the rest of 2014 goes well for you and your kids. Sending a warm hug, calm, patience and joy your way. Take care. 🙂

  3. I am also stunned at how quickly the year has flown! Happy Thanksgiving! I’m thankful for you and your blog and to have found your writing when I was newly diagnosed.

Leave a Reply

