Posted in Book Review, inspiration

Review of Michael J. Fox’s Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist


MJF

Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist
by Michael J. Fox

  • Publication Date: March 30, 2010
  • Genres: Memoir, Nonfiction
  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Hyperion
  • ISBN-10: 1401310168
  • ISBN-13: 9781401310165

I recently picked up an audiobook for Michael J. Fox’s “Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist.” I listened to it in my car on my long drive to and from work. What an inspiration! If you have not read his book, you should add it to your reading/listening list.

Living with chronic illness, Michael experiences resonated with me.  I understand his challenges with diagnosis, denial, treatment, and acceptance. Listening to Michael tell his story helps me to understand how I, too, am an incurable optimist.  So much really hit home as I listened to how he has taken what life has thrown him in such a positive light.

There was times where I laughed out loud or teared up as I felt his passion in every word. He talked about his experiences including growing up, his career, his marriage, his parenting, losing a loved one and just living with the day-to-day of a chronic illness. Michael found universal lessons in everything life had given him and in doing so, I saw him as a true inspiration.

The part that hit home for me was his making a comment to his wife about being afraid that the other shoe would fall at any minute. Her response: it already has. It made me think about RA and fibromyalgia making my life so much harder and what they put me through daily is worse than anything else I have been through.  Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist, is moving and uplifting.

One thought on “Review of Michael J. Fox’s Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist

  1. I’m so pleased to see this. As far as I’m aware there’s been no publicity about this book in the UK. Doubtless it’ll happen – I hope so. Fox’s films are frequently shown here, of course, and I’ve often wondered how he is.

Leave a Reply

