#NHBPM Day 18 A comment as a blog post.


Today’s prompt: Pick someone else’s post (from the past or from today) and write a comment to them. Write that comment as your blog post for today. Link back to them to let them know you were inspired.          

I really like this prompt because it always our fellow bloggers to see how inspiring they are they to us.  The blog post that inspired me from yesterday was Kate’s Let it Be post.  Kate inspired me to find out all I can about Type 2 diabetes.  I am a strong believer in learning all you can about a condition and  I also thought it was equally important to learn to differentiate about the two types. I have been affected by diabetes because my mother has struggled with it nearly 20 years.

You would think that watching my mother struggle with diabetes that I would know a lot but I don’t.  In fact, I know very little.  My mother learned that she was a diabetic about 20 years ago when she was pregnant with my baby brother.  She needed insulin shots during her pregnancy and I remember how hard it was on her.  I was the only one of my siblings who was willing to help her with her injections and while it was pretty hard on me; I understood that she needed me. After my brother was born, she started taking medication instead of injections.

So, Kate, you inspired me. I went online and did some research on differentiating between the two.  What I found was that I knew a whole lot less than I thought I did.  First, I thought there were only two types of diabetes but I learned that there in fact several types.  Type 1 and type 2 are the most common.  My apologies to Kate because I told her my mom had Type 1 but after reading up, I am not sure I was correct on this because apparently Type 1 happens before age 20 and I assume she has Type 2 which is adult onset.

See, the more you know – the less of an idiot you look like!  And I feel like an idiot for not knowing which type my own mother has.

This entry was posted in Advocate, Health Activist Challenge, NHBPM. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #NHBPM Day 18 A comment as a blog post.

  1. Kate says:

    Thanks for the shout out, Lana! I’m glad to know that my blog helped someone to better understand my condition. NHBPM has been so much fun since I’ve been able to read blogs about other health issues other than diabetes. Great work!

  2. Debbie Smith says:

    My aunt is also struggling from DM type 2 for 5 years now. Despite of her illness, she is so amazing as she is still living an active and happy life. She is really a fighter. She’s been taking a lot of medications everyday but still she is living a normal life.

  3. diabetes says:

    It’s in reality a nice and useful piece of information. I am satisfied that you just shared this useful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Will says:

    Thanks for sharing this! I liked the article.

Leave a Reply

