NHBPM Day 8: Three Truths, One Lie


Today’s NHBPM prompt.  3 Truths and 1 lie. Tell us 3 things that are true about you, your condition, your Health Activism, or your life. Now tell us 1 lie. Do you think we will be able to tell the difference?

I like today’s prompt but I don’t have a poker face so let’s see where how well I pull this off. Just so everyone knows, I am a horrible liar.  I lie better by email and sometimes by phone but if you look at me while I am lying, I am busted pretty easily busted.  So here we go, three truths and one lie – let’s see if you can pick out the lie.

  1. If RA and fibromyalgia didn’t come into my life, I would have a law degree my now and would be practicing law.
  2. In college, I was student government president.  However, I don’t like politics.
  3. Growing up, I was a girly girl so raising boys has been a complete shock to me.
  4.  Cancer came into my life twice and it has forever changed me.

For those of you who are frequent readers of my blog, two of these would stand out for you as true.  Two more will leave you wondering if I am telling the truth.  So can you figure out which of these is the lie?

Here’s some information about the three truths and one lie above.  The truth will be revealed and the lie exposed.

If RA and fibromyalgia didn’t come into my life, I would have a law degree my now and would be practicing law.  This is most likely true.  I had planned on taking my LSATs before I had found out I was pregnant with my now three year old.  When I found out I was pregnant, I planned on waiting taking my LSATs when my son was a few months old and starting law school within six months.  I had plan all ready and I never expected to hear the words “rheumatoid arthritis” two weeks after my son was born so my plans changed.   The funny thing is that I thought I would have regrets but I don’t.  I went to pursue a master’s degree in legal studies and I started advocating. The master’s degree is now complete and I have been advocating for a year and a half.  In my case, for RA and fibro took, I took something back and that’s why I don’t have any regrets. Further, if RA and fibro never came in my life, my relationship with my children would have suffered because law school is a big commitment so everything worked out for the best.

In college, I was student government president.  However, I don’t like politics.  You might be asking yourself if this is the lie but it isn’t.  I actually was student government at the college where I got my associate’s degree.  I was a natural born leader but the stress of the job didn’t work for me so a year later, I didn’t run again.  I promoted someone’s campaign and I actually felt bad for that person.  Politics wasn’t for me and to this day, I don’t really pay attention to it. The only time I do is when it is time to vote in a presidential election and even then, I usually wait until the end to get to know the two final runners. I don’t even like reality TV where voting is involved (i.e. American Idol).

Growing up, I was a girly girl so raising boys has been a complete shock to me. You probably are wondering about this one but the truth is, I was never a girly girl. When I didn’t have my nose in a book, I was busy playing in dirt, climbing trees, and getting into trouble that really embarrassed my parents.  They expected me to be a girly girl which I wasn’t.  However, that has turned out pretty well for me since I am raising boys.  As a mother to boys, nothing grosses me and if not, for the chronic pain, I am very active when it comes to boy’s sports.  Whatever my boys are into, I am into such the WWE, wrestling, hockey, and other boy stuff – you name it.  However, the farting still maddens me.

Cancer came into my life twice and it has forever changed me.  Many of us know this one to be true. Four years ago, my younger sister was diagnosed with Hodgkin’s disease. Hodgkin’s is a type of lymphoma and lymphoma is a cancer of the lymph tissues in the lymph nodes, spleen, liver, and bone marrow.  My sister was lucky because she was diagnosed pretty early. She is nearly four years in remission and even though she was told she was not able to have any more children, she is due in January with a daughter.  God works in mysterious ways.  As many of you also know, I lost my brother to peritoneal mesothelioma on December 20, 2010.  My brother was only 31 years old and when he was diagnosed, the disease was so far advanced that the chances of his survival were small.  As we got close to his last days, we knew that were losing him and we decided that if we going to lose him we wanted him to go knowing how loved he was. 

Both these experiences have changed me they have shown me sadness and happiness. Everyday my sister stays in remission and for every victory she has, I am so grateful.  I am also grateful for having had an opportunity to have said goodbye to my brother.  So often, people are taken away from us without warning and while my brother’s last two months on this earth were the hardest of my life, I am grateful for the opportunity to say goodbye and to show him how loved he was.  Cancer changes you in more ways than you thought possible.  Whether you are a survivor, a caregiver, or someone who has lost a loved one to cancer, you are forever changed.  The only thing I want is the strength to be a health and legal activist fighting for a cure and pushing for legislation banning asbestos and protecting the rights of those who are affected by asbestos cancers. I am not strong enough today but I will be someday and when I am, I will fight in my brother’s memory.

This post was written as part of NHBPM – 30 health posts 30 days: http://bit.ly/vU0g9J

This entry was posted in Advocate, Health Activist Challenge, NHBPM. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NHBPM Day 8: Three Truths, One Lie

  1. Thank you for sharing! I had one of the lies down but not the other…about being a girly girl. I was also a tom boy of sorts growing up. And yes, you will one day advocate as you wish in your brother’s memory. And don’t forget just how powerful the internet can be in this fight. And those of us with chronic conditions may just be able to advocate with this powerful tool! Just as you are now doing for chronic conditions.

Leave a Reply

