Posted in Life in general, Life is too short

Pulling Though


I have been reading all the comments at my blog and I appreciate all your kind words.  I have not responded to your comments because I don’t know how to respond right now but I do want you to know, your words have been comforting and I am very appreciative.

My family is still mourning and there is nothing that we can do to bring my brother back but because we are religious people, we accept the cards we have been dealt.  In the end, we all return to God.  It does not mean that we are not hurting and the hardest part is that we feel like he has been erased from our lives and even our memories are fading.   Nevertheless, his nephews and nieces, particularly the ones ages eight and above won’t forget him and neither will we.   It may not feel that way but our memories and photos of him are still there and they give us comfort through this grieving process.

What  I can do is something to honor his memory. I want to make sure that his death was not in vain.  I plan on playing some sort of support/advocacy for mesothelioma patients and families.   My plate is already full so I am working on a way to incorporate it in the things that I already do.  Your suggestions are always welcome.

The New Year is approaching and all of us are forever changed by the last couple months.  While I wish I could go back in time, but I know that what we have been through is part of the cycle of life.  We are born, we live, and we grow old and in some cases we don’t grow old, but eventually we die.  For those of us who believe in the afterlife, we believe our lives don’t end, just our time on Earth does.

The New Year is approaching and we are pulling through.  It has been a week since my brother passed away.  2010 for us is an awakening and 2011 is an opportunity for change and I promise my brother that that change will be good.

Please take the time to appreciate the people in your life.  My brother was in our lives for 31 years and we lost him less than two months after we found out he had cancer.  The loss is a permanent void in our lives and there is nothing we can do to fill that void.

For 2011, I ask that you do the following.  Love the people who treat you right and forget about the ones that don’t. Don’t have regrets and make wise choices.  Don’t take a moment or a person for granted.   No one ever said life with be easy but when you love and care about someone, hold them close and enjoy every moment of everyday with them because you never know when they can be taken from you.

4 thoughts on “Pulling Though

  1. Lana, I have been reading your posts but, like you not knowing how to respond to comments, I didn’t know what to say. I may not be articulate, but know that your family has been in my thoughts and prayers continuously throughout this. This is not something that you will get over quickly, but as time passes you will just remember the fun things and good times with your brother.

  2. Thank you Terry. One thing I know is that we were lucky because we had an opportunity to say goodbye and we are forever grateful for that. That eases our mind and puts our hearts at ease.

  3. You’ve been in my heart and on my mind as the days pass, Lana. While I know this was a very sad holiday for you and your family, I hope that there were some bright spots, too, and some moments of joy. I’m still sending all the warmth and comfort your way that I can. Hugs for you, friend.

Leave a Reply

