Posted in Fibromyaloga, Motherhood, rheumatoid arthritis

Progress


My RA and FMS

In the last few weeks, I have noticed a decrease in my rheumatoid arthritis symptoms, but I was still left with a lot of muscle pain and symptoms from the fibromyalgia. This morning, as I moved about my home, trying to get things done, it occurred to me that this the first time since my diagnosis that I have felt this good. My symptoms come and go but they are not as bad as they used to be. In all honesty (knocking on wood here), I feel better than I have felt in a long time. With little or no pain, my mood feels better and I feel like I can be human again. I felt that this was something important to share with the readers of my blog; particularly those of you have RA and/or FMS and I wish the same for you. I love being productive and I hated how RA and FMS limited me. The issues that I am still having are the morning aches, pains and stiffness and after sitting for prolonged periods. Otherwise, as long as I do not over do it, I am doing great.

Growing Up

On a much lighter note, I spoke with my ten year old last night who is in NYC visiting his aunt. He had a productive day, he spent most of the day with his aunt and uncle in Manhattan shopping, and he was excited with all the purchases he made that were characteristic of New York and that for sure, we do not have in Ohio. Come bedtime, however, he called me told me he missed his mommy, his baby brother and his bed. He also wanted to go home. Well, as much I would like to get in my Subaru mom-wagon, drive there, and pick him up, I know that I can’t and that I shouldn’t. First, this is a learning experience for him and for me; we (he and I) both need to learn that he is growing up. Moreover, he may be 400-plus miles away but he is with his auntie – my sister, the person I trust most in the world with my life and my kids’ lives. Heck, I trust her more than I trust my husband and there is a lot to be said there.

I know that he will be fine and well, so will I. I am so very proud of him and I am beaming from ear to ear with how proud I am. Sometimes, I look at how hard parenting is, particularly motherhood, and I remind myself that it is all worth it. There are the moments where they make us so proud that all we can do is cry – those are the moments to focus on and hold onto despite our health, the crazy world out there, and money woes. It is all worth it to watch them turn into amazing adults. My ten year old will be amazing young man and for that, I am in awe at what a good job I did and am still doing raising him.

Product Review

I received some products by The Zibra Company to test and I am going to prepare a product review. The set I received includes three pieces that help with opening medicine bottles, tearing open wraps and seals, opening foil packs, turning the caps on water bottles, opening push off caps and turning squeeze and turn bottles. These products are designed for those of suffering from arthritis and hand weakness conditions. Zibra also sent extra set, which I plan on giving away for so look for the review sometime in the next few days. I am really excited about testing these and I have already started using them in my kitchen so I am amazed by what they can do. For someone cannot turn the cap on a bottle of water without pain, this is definitely something I can be excited about.

My plans for the weekend are nothing majorly special just my husband, my 19 month old and myself but I wanted to wish everyone (who celebrates) a Happy Easter.

6 thoughts on “Progress

  1. How awesome that they sent you those to review! Gawd, they look helpful.Have a nice Easter weekend. And congrats on the awesome parenting skills.

  2. Glad you're feeling better, Lana. Amazing what we can do (and how we enjoy it) when we don't hurt so much. I hope this trend continues for you. It's time for a break, eh?It's great that your son is getting this away-from-Mom experience. He'll remember it for his whole life, I bet, with joy. And it's a little break for you, too. Enjoy it.Those tools look really useful. Looking forward to reading your review. Have a wonderful, restful and enjoyable weekend.-Wren

  3. Thats great news that you're feeling better. I am, sometimes, reluctant to tell non RAers that I feel better. It's nice to feel like doing something for a change isn't it? I try not to overdo it, but sometimes don't use the best judgement.Good job with your parenting skills. New tools … cool. Even though I am feeling much better now, my hands and fingers hurt most of the time. I'll be watching for your review.

  4. Lana, I'm so glad that your pain is under control….Everything around feels so light when health is better…I hope it really does continue to improve for you. My wishes 🙂

  5. Hey Lana…I'm glad you are feeling better right now..hope it continues and you have many, many more days of it! Glad to see your kiddo is doing great there…bedtime always seems to be the time they wanna come home.. Can't wait to read about your review on the new gadgets!

Leave a Reply

