Posted in Fibromyaloga, rheumatoid arthritis

Taking a Break From All Your Worries


If you and I had a dollar for every time people in my life have yelled me for NOT taking breaks or time to myself, you and I would be rich. When I take a break, I take it to do something else. (That’s the part I get yelled at for.)

There was a Battlestar Galactica episode titled “Taking a Break from All Your Worries” which was in the third season. The writers had the “Cheers” theme song “Where Everybody Knows Your Name” in mind. You know:

Making your way in the world today takes everything you’ve got.
Taking a break from all your worries, sure would help a lot.

Wouldn’t you like to get away?
Sometimes you want to go

Where everybody knows your name,
and they’re always glad you came.

You wanna be where you can see; your troubles are all the same
You wanna be where everybody knows Your name.

Anyway the episode was centered on two separate and completely unrelated storylines.
http://video.google.com/googleplayer.swf?docid=-7359998490005913204&hl=en&fs=true

The first storyline involved Dr. Gaius Balter as a prisoner in the brig (jail). He was arrested after the escape from New Caprica (after the Cylon invasion) after which there was information found that Balter conspired with the Cylons and his actions lead to the attack on the colonies. In beginning of the episode, Baltar attempts suicide to find whether he is a Cylon because if he is, he will resurrect and awake on the Cylon resurrection ship. Well, it turns out he is not a Cylon because after he finds himself in a hallucination on the Cylon ship, he awakes to find himself back in the brig with a guard administering CPR.

Baltar’s guilty but he really believes he isn’t. Even after President Roslin’s scare tactics, he does not admit to anything. Meanwhile, his former assistant, Felix Gaeta, intervenes and insists that Baltar trusts him that he might be able to help. However, Roslin and Adama do not take him on his offer. Later, a determined Roslin, Adama and Tigh use a hallucinogenic drug to get him to speak. After the drug is administered, we see Baltar strapped down to a table and Adama asking him questions about the attack on the colonies. Baltar admits that he an unwitting participant in the Cylon plan to attack on the colonies. He is also asked whether he is a Cylon and tells them he is not. Roslin and Adama finally allow Gaeta and Baltar to speak. The two argue and Baltar realizes that Gaeta has a small camera on him. Baltar accuses Baltar of deceiving him and an infuriated Gaeta stabs him in the neck with a pen. Roslin then realizes that the only reason Gaeta wanted to see Baltar was to kill him. However, Gaeta is unsuccessful and Baltar lives yet again.

The second storyline involves the love quadrangle between Apollo, Dee, Anders, and Starbuck. First, we see Apollo and Starbuck talking. Starbucks asks if Apollo will leave Dee if she leaves Anders. Apollo does not give her answer because he has torn feelings between the love for his wife and his love for her. Starbuck tells to think about it and Apollo goes back to Joe’s Bar and drinks himself to a stupor. He stumbles in a hallway on his way back to his courters and loses his wedding ring. He is in tears trying to find it.

At the end of the episode, we see Baltar recuperating. Roslin tells Adama that Baltar will get his trial. Also at Joe’s, Apollo is sitting with Dee and, across the room, Starbuck is sitting with Anders. Apollo tries to reconcile with Dee but he keeps looking over at Starbuck. Apollo then tells Dee that he did not realize how much he loved her until he realized he could lose her.

I have been a big Battlestar Galactica fan for quite some time (and I was sad when it concluded) so this episode stood out for me. The storyline itself is one that was long dragged out that led to the expected or unexpected (your pick) outcome. Dee and Apollo and Starbuck and Anders are all back to their boring marriages, and Baltar’s finally getting his trial. Everything goes back to the way it was and the scenes of turmoil and pondering transfer into a calm finish.

The episode reminded me that sometimes taking a break from the worries of life doesn’t really happen but we should still try. I’d rather be in my comfort zone every second of everyday; hence, the place where everybody knows my name. Obviously, nothing was resolved in this BG episode, but it showed how people have a tendency to get stuck and sometimes, it helps to remain struck so we can feel safe and in our comfort zones.

What does this have to do with me, you ask? Well, my point is I don’t take breaks but I am in my comfort zone. I feel productive and I enjoy that feeling, and it is my way of sticking it to RA and FMS. The fact is that RA and FMS are here stay, and hence, the resolution will never come, but I am here in my comfort zone, safe and sound. That is enough for me right now. It is true, however, we can never really take a break from our worries because they will always be there and we eventually have to figure them out. We just have to wait for the right time.

5 thoughts on “Taking a Break From All Your Worries

  1. While I think it's possible to take a break from our worries, they are definitely still there when we return. Sometimes when it gets to be too much, I do have to step away from the problems for a bit, and regroup. Often, I can come back with a clearer head and a better way to tackle the problem facing me.

  2. It's hard to truly take a much-needed break when you have a million things on your mind. Just like I can't relax on the sofa when the house is a complete mess.Sometimes you just have to work your ass off to get everything resolved and then take time to relax and really enjoy being in the moment!

  3. I would love to take a break from all my worries in like say….the bahamas? haha! Seriously…we all need time to regroup and then move on…

  4. Thats why I love to ride. I get away from everything for a day, no work, no chores, no cell phone or computer. Even though it sometimes hurts my RA, it's amazing how great your mind feels being away from the everyday life.

Leave a Reply

