I really can find things to do



I know I promised I would not blog but I just wanted to check in and say that I have had an interesting few days. I have been spending a lot of time with my kids and just taking advantage of the opportunity to have fun. I had done of a good job of staying away from my computer, not blogging as much, and really, the only time I have spent on the computer, was doing advocacy work over at Arthritis Connect. If you have not checked out Arthritis Connect, please take a moment to do so. You will find a lot of information and support about the variety of arthritis conditions out there.

Today my kids and I joined my friend Rhonda and her grown son at the Rainforest which is part of the Cleveland Metroparks Zoo. The boys had a blast and even the baby had a good time. Elliott was mesmerized by the variety of monkeys and the orangutans. He also was intrigued the bigger lizards, snakes and fish. He could have just stayed there for hours staring at the crocodiles and alligators. He stood right in front of a huge alligator tank and watched the alligators and the big turtles (I do not recall the exact names) in awe. I forgot my digital camera at home but I managed to snap a few on my cell phone. The quality is not great because the rainforest is not very well lit and the photos are only cell phone quality.

I wish I had more time on my hands to spend time with my boys but having children means you do have to work hard. I know that is just a part of it and part of giving them a good life but it does not mean that I do not spend a lot of time missing them. I watched my friend Rhonda with her grown son who is 24 and I was reminded how fast it will go. It is heartbreaking when you realize that your role in their lives gets smaller and smaller as they grow older and how they turn out reflects upon you.

This morning before I left the house, I read my horoscope and I realized how quickly things change. My ten year old is going to NYC to visit his aunt during spring break. He will be gone for a week and it will be the longest week of my life. They really do grow up so fast.

My horoscope for today:
Do you often act on the basis of the idea that world is static and that nothing really changes, Lana? Sometimes you may think to yourself, “Mankind is like this, this is how the world is, and so, this is what I am going to do.” Have you ever heard of evolution? Mankind is in constant evolution and so is the world. Look around you!

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=livlov-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0787988316&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrhttp://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=livlov-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0345442865&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrhttp://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=livlov-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B001GAOHSY&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I really can find things to do

  1. Leslie says:

    Oh I love places like that! My daughter does too! I do bypass the tarantula tank…there are just some things I don't have to see 🙂 Glad you had a good time. Yeah, time goes by so fast. My daughter will be 13 this year…a teenager! HELP! lol! Good to see ya back in blogosphere 🙂

  2. tharr says:

    Sounds like you had a great day. You're so right, kids do grow up entirely too fast. My daughter has moved 80 miles north of us and will graduate from college in 1 year. It seems like she should still be in junior high school living at home. WIth us, its not so much about the quantity of time, but the quality of time that we spend together. We both love rock and blues music and it has become a stronger bond between us now that she has moved out. We meet to listen to local bands or drive to other cities to see concerts. She also likes to go to the Indy Car races with me. We always have a good time regardless of what we do now.

  3. Helene says:

    I often forget that there will come a day where I won't be as involved in my kids' lives and it's a tough pill to swallow. I find myself having to remind myself of that, especially during rough days where I wish I could chop my own head off so I don't have to listen to them whine anymore!!

Leave a Reply

