Posted in Fibromyaloga, rheumatoid arthritis

What I Have Learned Since My Diagnoses of Rheumatoid Arthritis and Fibromyalgia


When I sat down to prepare this list, I thought I was only have seven to ten things I have learned because of my health, but the ideas just kept coming. Apparently, I have gained an immense amount of knowledge and understanding since my diagnoses. Moreover, I definitely take much better care of myself since my diagnoses and I have learned what to let go of things that are not in my control.

Without further ado, I have learned:

1. Not to take my health for granted

2. That I am my best advocate and that no one knows my body better than I do.

3. That I am much stronger mentally than I was prior to my diagnosis.

4. That understanding and compassion goes a long away.

5. That Everything is in God’s control.

6. There are things that are in my control: what I feel, my hopes, my dreams, my goals, and my responses.

7. To ask and accept help from others

8. Self-pity is okay, as long as you do not let it consume you.

9. Life still goes on whether I am up for it or not.

10. Taking my medications, vitamins and supplements is mandatory.

11. There is power in prayer.

12. That perfection is something I must let go of.

13. To look and listen and realize that I am not the only one with difficulties and limitations.

14. That I must pace myself. Pushing myself forces my conditions to push back and makes me feel weaker and sicker.

15. To let go of the “should haves” and “what-ifs” and to stop dwelling on the past.

What have you learned since your diagnosis/diagnoses?

5 thoughts on “What I Have Learned Since My Diagnoses of Rheumatoid Arthritis and Fibromyalgia

  1. 1.That non-sufferers will never fully understand it.2.That asking for help to do something as small as washing your hair, is a whole new level of embarrassing.3.That I need to redefine my answers on those scale of 1-10 doctor pain charts.4.That pushing myself on good days, make the next day worse.5.That being in constant pain (even a 1-3) makes a person cranky.6.That googling pictures of RA scares the beejeezuz out of me.7.That there is no one to rage at when I'm having a full blown flare-up.8.That this is just another item on the list of things that stress makes worse.9.That when you have "handicaps" it's mostly possible to work around it, and still do things.10.That undisturbed, solid, painless sleep, is a gift.

  2. I can really relate to your number 2, Dee. One I forgot was about about taking Tyenol P.M.I have learned that I should not take a sleep aid if I am sleeping less than 8 hours or else, I will be groggy for the rest of the day.

  3. How true. These all apply to me and I want to cry because my daughter has arthritis and is only 13, she will need to be strong all her life.

  4. I think I have the hardest time with pacing myself. When I am feeling good it is so easy to over-do-it and I always end up paying for it later.

Leave a Reply

