Posted in rheumatoid arthritis

The malaise fairy, the pain troll, and Brinks Home Security


The malaise fairy paid me a visit today, as did the pain troll. My feet and my toes feel like someone ran them over with a big monster truck. Needless to say, I have not been pleasant company. It took me four hours to clean my living room and kitchen today due to a lack of energy. It took my toddler and tween twenty minutes to tear apart both rooms. For someone who hates stopping and can’t sit still, today was a simply a waste of a day. Now, at 11:30 p.m., it is hard to fall asleep because the pain and the extreme exhaustion aren’t allowing me to sleep.

RA and FMS definitely make for an uncomfortable day and life. I find that my bad days are my most vulnerable days. There are the days when I break down in tears easily and turn into a raging mad woman. Expect for telling my boys repeatedly to “calm down” and to “sit still,” I think I did pretty good. Oh yes, and I yelled at my husband for being so lazy. Otherwise, I think I kept my cool. I even managed to get out of the house briefly and get some things from the store, in slow motion of course. It was like watching a movie in slow motion. I needed to get some fresh air and being coped up in the house wasn’t pleasant for me or the boys.

Well, hopefully tomorrow is better. One thing I have learned about my conditions is that patience is a virtue. Stress turns into flare-ups so I don’t plan on making myself worse on a day like today. I think taking it easy is best solution on a day like today.

Now, if I could keep the malaise fairy and the pain troll away. You think a Brinks home security system might help?

3 thoughts on “The malaise fairy, the pain troll, and Brinks Home Security

  1. My daughter is officially about to surrender her teen years when she turns 20 next month. I'm no expert on teens but have noticed a direct correlation between the fewer teens she has over, the larger the path of destruction they leave in their wake.Hope you get to feeling better soon.

  2. I hate that stupid Malaise Fairy! (I never knew her name until now) She affects me almost daily. I just need to learn to deal with the stress in my life better and hopefully I will someday be able to fight her off a little every once in a while.Hope you feel better!

Leave a Reply

