Posted in Best of 2009, New Year

2009 is a memory, but a strong reminder


I posted several posts from 2009 that were important to me. If anything, I think 2009 has been a wonderful year of emotional growth for me. It is may be behind me, but I will forever be reminded of how much I have grown up since January 1, 2009. I guess I could attribute it to be older, or being wiser, or even RA and FMS, but my goals, my thinking, my ideals, and even my expectations have changed in the last year more than they would have or did in previous years. If anything, I am definitely a different person than I was a year ago at this time.

This quote comes from my last blog post of 2009.

As the year nears to end, I welcome it. I want to put behind me 2008 and I am pretty sure that I am not alone in that one. Life has become harder for all of us. At Christmas time, there were fewer gifts under Christmas trees. They were less people traveling to visit loved ones for the holidays. Amidst our economic woes, we have so much to celebrate. We can celebrate our friendships, our good health and our families, and we can look forward to better days. We can also give our time, expertise and assistance to others in need.


The New Year will also bring with it a new president, one who also hopes and prays for better days ahead. 2008 brought with it some of the worst times for middle class America, including declining incomes, retirement accounts and real estate values. Our next president has plenty of work ahead of him, but it is estimated that by this time next year, the economy will be starting to get out of the current slump. Americans everywhere are optimistic.


The first half of 2009 is going to bring a lot of work with it for our leaders, our employers, our coworkers, our families and ourselves. After what this country been through the last eight years, optimism is on our side. So here is to better days, and welcome to a New Year. Happy New Year to all of my friends, family, and all of you that read my blog. God Bless each of you and your loved ones and may the New Year give us so much more to celebrate.

When I typed those words last year, I didn’t realize how much they would change me. If anything, in 2009, I celebrated my life with those that I loved and I put aside a shallow way of thinking. In 2009, I did in fact celebrate my family, my friendships, my health and I believed that the best years of my life were ahead of me. I choose to be optimistic and because of it, I felt like I became a better person. In 2010, I am even more optimistic.

As I closed last year, “Happy New Year to all of my friends, family, and all of you that read my blog. God Bless each of you and your loved ones and may the New Year give us so much more to celebrate.”

5 thoughts on “2009 is a memory, but a strong reminder

Leave a Reply

