Posted in Fibromyaloga, malaise, rheumatoid arthritis

Rheumatoid Arthritis Setbacks


One of the hardest thing about having rheumatoid arthritis is the setbacks. After days of increased energy, the malaise fairy visited me. To think, a year ago, I did not even know what the word “malaise” meant.

For those of who have never heard the term, malaise is pronounced muh-laze and it is defined as a general ill feeling. This general ill feeling means a combination of fatigue, lack of energy, body aches, sleepiness, drowsiness, and weakness. Malaise is mainly associated with systemic diseases. Depending on the disease, it can develop slowly or quickly. Diseases known to cause malaise include lyme disease, rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia and systemic lupus.

Lucky for me, I scored with two of these conditions. Malaise feels like having the flu except you know you don’t have the flu. It is like feeling sick and just not feeling right at the same time. It is something a nap can’t cure.

One of the biggest mistakes that us RA’ers make is trying to do everything on our “good days.” Of course, I know I overdid it with Thanksgiving and having a four-day weekend, I tried to get everything and anything done, and now, I am having a setback. Another mistake that us RA’ers make is that we look at the good days are a good sign of our getting better when in reality, they are nothing more than good days.

I hate setbacks, don’t you?

7 thoughts on “Rheumatoid Arthritis Setbacks

  1. Man, I'm sure glad I don't know what you're talking about! lol Sorry you're not feeling good, hope you recover quickly. The flu would be welcome compared to what we have. You get some Tamiflu, lots of rest and your back to normal in a week … we will never be back to normal again.

  2. These setbacks are rough. It's no fun to feel awful for no good reason (other than that your immune system is screwy). It's easy to push too hard when we're feeling good — and we want to, because we know the good times are temporary.But we also learn to cope with this — not because we want to, but because if we want to go on enjoying our lives and getting everything out of them that we can, we must. This bad day is here today but it might be gone tomorrow or the next day. Might as well take care of myself so when it DOES go, I can quickly get up to speed again.I hope you do feel better tomorrow, Lana. Take good care.-Wren

  3. Yes, I have had RA for 23 yrs. and still when i overdo things…I crash! Whenever I walk too long, more than 3 hrs. I have to resort to a wheelchair. I still push myself regardless, and exercise at least 3X a week, so I will never be permanently in a wheelchair when I'm older!!!

  4. Lana,Sorry for your setback. Did I mention malaise is my middle name? Seriously, I "get it" and it's not fun. I hope you feel better very soon. By "better" I know it's a relative thing.Jeanne

Leave a Reply

