Posted in Humira, rheumatoid arthritis

Approved…Finally!


I finally received the approval for Humira and despite the high expense of the medication,  I was able to get assistance towards the cost of the medication from Abbott Patient Assistance Foundation so I wanted to pass this piece of information on to anyone thinking they cannot afford the cost.  

The cost and the approval of the medication has been very nerve-wrecking subject for me in the last month as RA has left me with so many questions. When I first was diagnosed, I did not know what to expect and I didn’t know where this journey would take me. I can tell you that I have changed in more ways that I could have imagined. I have changed in the way that I view the world, the way I view my life, my religious thinking has evolved, and I appreciate everything in my life and I take nothing for granted.

My life has, of course, gotten a little tougher because I am unable to do as much as I used to. I am working mother and I am also working on master’s degree in legal studies so I am slowly incorporating changes in my life to adapt to the worsening of my condition However, I am hopeful that my condition will show the improvement that I need it to when my life is less stressful and less chaotic, less busy, and less _______________ (insert your favorite noisy adjective here.) As many of you know, the American College of Rheumatology met last week in Philadelphia to further define rheumatoid arthritis and to incorporate new criteria to for diagnosis and treatment so there is always reason to be hopeful.

But —- I wouldn’t change a thing. I am grateful for the gifts in my life, and I won’t let rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia, or any worry about my conditions take that away. Check out my latest Examiner post titled “When a working mother lives with an arthritis-related condition .”

5 thoughts on “Approved…Finally!

  1. Humira really helped me. I could tell a difference after the first dose! I'm glad you got approved- I use the Abbott Patient Assistance too and it has been such a relief.

  2. This is good news! I am lucky that I have good insurance where I work. I hope that the Humira works well for you. By the way, I thought of putting a playlist on my blog but I didn't want to scare people away. Most RA people just aren't into Craving Lucy, Rob Zombie or Metallica. LOL

  3. Please keep us posted on how its working for you. I really love your attitude. RA can definitely make you slow down (literally and figuratively) and think about the little things and not sweating the small stuff. Best of luck to you! 🙂

  4. Lana is one of the stronges ppl I have ever had the honor to know. And let me tell you, RA is the last thing that will ever take her @#$%###$ down!!!!

Leave a Reply

