Posted in Examiner Cleveland

A Leap of Faith


Have you ever felt like it was time for a change, and when I say change, I mean a big leap of faith. I have for a long time worked simply because I had to, or at least, I thought I had to. Well, I have to, but because of that “have to” attitude, I haven’t allowed myself to focus on what it is I want out of my career. A good fat paycheck is always important, but what about the challenge, the feeling that you have made a difference everyday, and a feeling of belonging.

I have been given an opportunity that I am not sure what to make of, but for once, I don’t want to my decision to be based on money. This is an opportunity that is more inline with my experience and education and career objectives. I am weighing some options right now and more than anything, I am ready to take a leap of faith, but the money aspect is stopping me. The second option will not pay as well as the first, but the second option is the best for my career development, it will challenge me, and I will feel like I am making a difference where it counts. Moreover, the second option involves less hours, and I will have more time with my children – something, I am always desperately seeking. Also, the second option will allow for my ideas to be heard, and for me to make major decisions on daily basis. What a dilemma! Obviously, the second option is the better of the two, but it doesn’t pay as well as the first.

My husband and I could make do as far as the money aspect goes, but as always, I want to treat the money as the better opportunity. I have done that for years when it came to developing my career, and because of that, I wasn’t able to go further in my career, and now, I have got that opportunity. Accepting the position will be taking a big leap of faith, but it would give me exactly what I need out of my career, allow me more time with my children, and allow me to be part of something bigger.

What would you do? Take the lower paying position that is far more important to your goals, your family commitments, and where you would be making a difference on a daily basis or would you the position that simply pays more? The position that pays more I am over-qualified for and would not challenge me as I need it to. Something tells me my horoscope says it all.

My horoscope for October 12, 2009

You should feel a renewed sense of confidence today that will help anchor your emotions and give strength to your thoughts and ideas today, Lana. Don’t take such a pessimistic attitude towards everything around you. Look at the good in situations instead of the bad. By maintaining a negative viewpoint about things, you are only adding more problems to the situation. You have every right to be happy.

***
Don’t forget to check out my latest Examiner Cleveland post. This time I am discussing working mom guilt, stereotypes, and I have good news for working moms.

4 thoughts on “A Leap of Faith

  1. If your family can handle the lower pay… I'd say go for it! Being unhappy in a job is a hard row to hoe. A job you are more suited for, and happier with will bring rewards.More time with the kids, a happier you, challenge, and the self respect of going after something you want.

  2. I made a job change about 3 years ago that would benefit my family which is just me and my daughter. I work at home and love it! I get to pick her up from school everyday. At first it was a pay cut but its funny how things work out. I now make the same I did at my other job but I get to work in my PJ's and have more time with my daughter. Sometimes taking that leap of faith can be the best thing ever! There are still other things I wanna do and I wont give up on those either! 🙂 Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

