Don’t ya just love Mondays?


I had an interesting morning, but I am not alone, apparently, it’s a full moon tonight or was it last night? My nine year old and I were running late this morning, and rushing so he would not miss the school bus. I dropped him of and went on my way. After I got on the highway, I realized that I needed gas. I knew I could let it go until after I left work so I went on my way. I then realized that I had continued to say on 480 East instead of jumping on 71 North so I thought I would exit, put gas, and get on my way. Well, I exited and then realized I had forgotten my debit card on my dinning room table and decided the best thing to do was turn around, go home and get the debit card so I did not get stuck.


I picked up my debit card and headed to the gas station. As I was pumping gas, a man told me that I needed air in my rear driver side tire so I finished pumping my gas and moved my car to the air pump. After I paid for the air (75 cents!), I noticed there was a nail in the tire. I thought that I would jump drop it off at the Conrad’s near my job, but then I realized that this morning was not going as planned and the last thing I needed was to be stuck on Interstate 71 so I headed to the gas station across the street because it had a garage.


Well, I called my job to let them know that I was running late, got the tire done, and headed on my way to downtown Cleveland. I got to the parking garage five minutes to nine and of course, I was a half later late. I headed towards the elevator, said my usual good mornings, and as I walked into the elevator, I dropped my keys in the elevator shaft. I started laughing hysterically. I am sure everyone that saw throught I was insane. Yes, it could get any worse than this! The security desk said they would have maintenance find my keys, and an hour later, I had my keys.

I have been through a lot in the last year, and what I have learned throughout it all is not to sweat the small stuff. My life is crazy, and there is not a darn thing I can do about it, so I am not going to raise my blood pressure over things I have no control over. I have changed my attitude in the last year because so much has come my way that I have no control over. I have learned so many tough lessons the hard way, and because of those, I have changed. I am more open-minded, more responsible, and more dedicated to the things that matter. I have learned to expect the unexpected on a daily basis, and I have learned how to deal with situations I don’t necessarily plan. I have changed, there is no doubt about it, and as stressful as things get, I am happy with the person I have become. And Mondays, well who likes Mondays anyway?

Be sure to check out my first post as a Working Mom Examiner for the Examiner Cleveland titled Finding Balance and Keeping it all Together. I welcome your suggestions and comments. Please subscribe to get email updates when a new post is added.

This entry was posted in Mondays. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t ya just love Mondays?

  1. Mrs.C says:

    It isn't just Mondays! LOL Glad you are able to keep a sense of humor, and not get overwhelmed by life's little tricks.Congrats on the new job/post.

  2. Melissa says:

    Funny, I had a similar day today and I have to say I put my head down and laughed out loud, too. No point in taking things to seriously.And in the end…it all worked out just fine!

  3. Brandy says:

    My "Monday morning" was moved to today. It was awful for about the first 3 hours. Ugh.I'm over it now but it does suck to start any day like that.

Leave a Reply

