Posted in nonsense, reality check

Sometimes, I just need a reality check (cash would nice, too)


Living with two chronic pain conditions, I have to remind myself everyday that I can’t sweat the small stuff. Many of us waste our time and energy getting upset over petty annoyances and bigger things that we have no control over.

I often ask myself, “Will this really matter a week from now, a month from now, or a year from now?” and quite often, those things won’t. I have learned the importance of patience and well, keeping my sanity in tact. There isn’t really much I can do about the realities that I have been dealt, and a problem is only as big as you are willing to make it. The last thing I need to do is raise my blood pressure and create a scene (and I am one to create a scene).

I quite often wonder about life’s lessons, and as I get older, I know the importance of patience, reality and well, not sweating the small stuff. There is only so much I have control over in my life, and I shouldn’t let the things that I have no control over make me (or my loved ones) miserable. That is fate and perhaps the work of a higher power, but sometimes, a reality check is all it takes for me to remember that.

I am human, and because of that, I have my moments. Sometimes, those moments cause me to break down and cry or yell or scream, etc., and being a control freak doesn’t help my case either. I have taught myself some great lessons by slowing down and looking at what really counts, and what is really important today. In essence, a reality check is something I need on a day like today (but I will take cash if that option is open).

6 thoughts on “Sometimes, I just need a reality check (cash would nice, too)

  1. So often, it's hard to slow down and see what really matters. I'm glad you are able to do that. I try, but it's hard when you are caught up in a whirlwind of "messes".

  2. this post really sets a standard for living life. your right! sometimes we focus on silly things…. its drains the energy from things that really requires us to focus.

  3. I am so glad I read your post tonight. I was sweatin' some small stuff, and my friend reminded me to look down at my feet. She said, at this moment are you okay? My answer was 'yes.' Your post was just confirmation that we only have this moment to live and simply enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

