Posted in inspiration

Hey God, I am still standing!


Looking from the outside, you would not how much I have been through in my life. But the fact is, I have been through a lot and every day, I think that it finally is over for me – the struggling, the worrying, etc., and but it is something new every day. God tests me on a daily basis, and I am not sure I understand why. I may not be religious, but I believe in him wholeheartedly. I ask for his guidance on a daily basis and in every thing I do, no matter how routine.

The irony is despite every test I have been put through, I am still standing, and stronger than ever. Maybe, I don’t fully understand what God’s purpose for me is, but if it is about testing my strength and belief, I am still standing, stronger than ever. The last few weeks and months have tested me in ways unimaginable and I am slowly dealing with the aftermath of that testing. I have learned so much along the way about who I am and how strong I can be and who my friends and my allies are, but mostly, I have learned to appreciate the simple things in my life, things that are priceless.

I have started to focus my thinking on spiritually and religion lately because it seems to have lead me to a better understanding of the tests that have been bestowed upon me in recent weeks and months. The Book of Genesis at 22:1-2, tells us that God came to Abraham and said: “Take your son, your only son Isaac, whom you love, and go to the region of Moriah. Sacrifice him there as a burnt offering on one of the mountains I will tell you about!” Abraham took Isaac as instructed and prepared him for sacrifice. Just then, the Lord appeared and provided a ram for the sacrifice. Of course, none of us will ever be tested in such a manner, but indeed, we will and have been tested. I look at Abraham’s story and realize how I come so close to giving up, and then the answers and solutions come at precisely the minute I wanted to give in.

Think about all the obstacles that that come in your way while you are trying to get things done, i.e., working hard to pay your bills, care for your families, etc., and then think about the story of Joshua when he was leading the Jews to what is now Israel. They had travelled long and far and they got to the flooded Jordan River. Joshua had been instructed by God to tell the priests to go first and for the people to follow in a distance. They were to walk through the flooded river and when their feet touched the water, the water would divide so that all the people would cross. The people and the priests had two choices: they could follow the command of God or they could just stay put and live on the shore. They choose to move forward and later stories about Joshua tell us that this was the very incident that gave him courage to overcome greater obstacles.

I truly don’t understand why God tests me or any of us. I just know that I am better for it – stronger and wiser. Despite all of this recent testing, I am truly grateful for all the blessings in my life. They keep me stronger and keep me standing. So, hey God, despite everything, I am still standing.

Dale Carnegie: Most of the important things in the world have been accomplished by people who have kept on trying when there seemed to be no hope at all.

Ray Bradbury: If we listened to our intellect, we’d never have a love affair. We’d never have a friendship. We’d never go into business, because we’d be too cynical. Well, that’s nonsense. You’ve got to jump off cliffs all the time and build your wings on the way down.

2 thoughts on “Hey God, I am still standing!

Leave a Reply

