Posted in Award, Keepsake Blog

Thank you Super Mega-Dad!


That Super Mega Dad over at The Adventures of Super Mega Dad is one heck of a character. Okay, I am down with getting the Keepsake Blog Award and I am very thankful. (Super Mega Dad got his award from Otter Thomas over at Life of a New Dad.) However, I was not sure if I was up for the task of sharing a “keepsake moment” with you. Yes, I have had many, but I was not sure if any were blog worthy. Besides, blogging about a keepsake moment means wearing my heart on my sleeve and I have been doing that a lot more lately, thanks to Rheumatoid Arthritis and Fibromyalgia. So here is one that truly holds a place in my heart and just a warning, keep the Kleenex nearby.

Around Thanksgiving last year I was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis. At the time, the baby was two and half months, and I figured that there was no reason for me to be swelled up over two months after giving birth. The diagnosis was hard for me and it took me awhile to talk to my husband about it, and I wanted until all of our Thanksgiving guests parted that evening, and sat my husband down. I knew that my husband did not know anything about RA so I had to break down from what I had been reading on the internet. My husband didn’t really give me a response and just kind of moved on. Nothing usual about that, that is just the way my husband is.

My nine year old had been listening and he knew how difficult my pregnancy was because of the pain and how difficult it had been for me since the baby was born. The pain made it difficult to carry the baby and especially when I had to get up in the middle of the night. Mornings were even worse because it took me at least a half hour to get my stiff feet and legs moving. Let me tell you that my nine year old is no sucker; he is intelligent beyond his years and for a long time, it was just me and him.

Back to my keepsake moment, my nine year old, who was supposed to be sleeping, heard the entire conversation. He came to my bed the following morning and asked if I needed any help and I told him that I just needed some time to get up and out of bed, but I did not need any help. The next thing that came out of my nine year old’s mouth took me by surprise. He took my hands and told me that “we will get through this together like we always have.” Let me honestly tell you that my nine year old is my rock and he always has been. When I say he is intelligent beyond his years, it is the truth. He is a smart, kind and good kid and I am lucky, and someday, he will make some lady very happy.

Now, comes the tough part. I am supposed to place the torch/award along to some of my fellow bloggers. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love you all, but I am only going to pick five of you today. (I do not want to tick too many people off.)

And the Award goes to:

Yaya at Yaya Stuff. Ya-Ya’s the best. Go visit her blog if you don’t believe me.

Lana over at Lana’s Blog: Yes, Super Mega Dad, there are three of us! Lana guest blogged here a few weeks back. Make sure you check out her inspiring post on Marriage.

Brandy at Not Your Average Soccer Mom. It looks like Brandy is currently on vacation, but I am sure she will accept her award gracefully (well, as graceful as Brandy can be) when she gets back.

Chris at Embracing My Inner Geek since he broke his post-a-day promise and now he is stuck catching up. Well, you know what they say; it was good while it lasted.

Last, Overwhelmed Working Mom, who has either been too busy to blog or having a dry spell. That is what happens when you work in the legal profession.

Okay, everyone, accept your awards and get to blogging! Don’t forget to copy the picture of the award and attach it to your blog page.

7 thoughts on “Thank you Super Mega-Dad!

  1. Wow, my first award! Thanks so much and I'll post a Keepsake Moment as soon as I think of one….life has been absolutely insane lately at work (I work for a financial institution, so it's LOADS of fun right now) but I'll have a post up soon. THANKS AGAIN!

  2. Lana, that was a really great story! Thank you so much for sharing and playing along. I don't know what I would do without MY kids sometimes either.I'm going to have to check out all these blogs now. ESPECIALLY the 3RD LANA! You know how much I like Lana blogs!

Leave a Reply

