Stop and Smell the Roses


I remember reading somewhere that the late Christopher Reeve would have a pity party for ten minutes every morning, put on a happy face and move on with his life. This is the same man who one year after an injury that left him paralyzed, narrated the HBO film Without Pity: A Film About Abilities. The film won the Emmy Award for “Outstanding Informational Special.”

We all look at our lives in ways that force us to forget about all the good and important things in our lives and we quite often view our obstacles as dominant over everything else. I have been having my own pity parties lately but when I woke up this morning, I found that I have so much to be grateful for. My tenth month old woke up at 4 am and wanted to play and while I nodded on and off, he played in his crib. I gave him a bottle and he was out like a log by 6 a.m. It was now time for me to wake up and I was so upset that I had not gotten a good night’s sleep. I went to the kitchen to make coffee and the coffee was ready for me. My husband made it right before he left because the coffee pot was just finishing up. It was not touched so I knew that he made it for me. I put myself a cup and then went to wake up my nine year old who told me he loved me the minute he opened his eyes.

With all of my latest pity parties, about our financial difficulties that started last summer that just won’t go away, the lack of sleep because of my anxiety over those issues, having fibromyalgia and RA and feeling sorry for myself, I have forgotten to stop and smell the roses. My day started out in a way I did not expect – listening to a baby playing, a fresh pot of coffee made by my husband (which rarely happens), and love from my nine year old and I forgot for the time being what my worries were. (Apparently, the roses smacked me in the face.)

I have so much to be grateful for and I have learned along the way that I am lucky and because of that, I should open my arms to generosity more often in the ways that I can. Yes, extra money is hard to come by these days, but there are other gestures that can go a long ways. So go ahead, stop and smell the roses.

This entry was posted in Christopher Reeve, Emmy Award for "Outstanding Informational Special, pity party, Roses, Without Pity: A Film About Abilities. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stop and Smell the Roses

  1. Cathy says:

    Beautiful. It is so true. There are so many wonderful things in our lives to focus on. Thanks for sharing some of yours.

Leave a Reply

