Posted in boys, Brothers

The Second Honeymoon


First, I would like to say I love my older sister, I would do anything for her, and that is the problem. When she asked me to take her three boys (ages 11, 13, and 15) for ten days, I didn’t think twice and agreed. After all, she is my sister and sisters should always be there for each other. Now, don’t get me wrong, they are good boys. They have good grades, never get in trouble at school and they help out at home, but they are still boys, and what do boys do when they are bored? They wrestle, poke and punch each other, get really loud and can be quite obnoxious, and drive you to the point of insanity with their constant bickering. To say the least, it is a complicated hair-raising adventure.

I am a mother to boys myself and I can tell you that it is not all bad. Boys love their mothers, grandmothers, aunts, sisters (all the women in their lives) unconditionally and are there for you in a heartbeat and despite all their fighting, they love their brothers. My nephews, for all their faults, are good and kind boys. They are going to grow up to be exceptional men and my sister is doing a great job. It doesn’t mean, however, that raising boys is easy. As I said, boys are complicated. They can’t sit still for five minutes or even long enough for you to finish a sentence. As a matter of fact, last night, they were sitting around watching a movie and every few minutes, one pokes the other and a riot arises. Even dinner turns into a WWE event. It would be nice to watch the movie, but I figure that house full of rowdy children is better than a house with no children at all.

While my sister and my brother-in-law enjoy their second honeymoon, after sixteen blissful years of marriage, I will sit back (and try to stay out of a mental institution) and remind myself that this is what sisters are for and that I am pretty lucky to have sisters. Sisterhood is a great bond that can stretch over hundreds and even thousands of miles. Isn’t it nice having sisters?

I have learned the phrase “Stop beating up on Adam!” without flinching, and know the precise time to say it. And yes, I know when they are beating on Adam even if I am in another room. Poor Adam! And I have learned to shut all the noise out and I no longer wonder how my sister does it. Yes, I love my sister, but these five days need to come to a conclusion and despite the misadventures in boy land I am having, I sure hope that they are enjoying themselves and not just simply missing their chaotic life.

I will leave you with a quote by John Andrew Holmes about the things that boys are made of.

“Every genuine boy is a rebel and an anarch. If he were allowed to develop
according to his own instincts, his own inclinations, society would undergo such
a radical transformation as to make the adult revolutionary cower and cringe.”

3 thoughts on “The Second Honeymoon

  1. As the mother of three boys I completely understand the fun you are having. So when is your sister going to return the favor? It is really nice of you to take on that many boys. Your sister is a lucky girl.:)

  2. Joann,Hopefully soon but my sister and I always do these kinds of things for each other. She took my nine year twice, when I in the hospital for five days while in labor w/my now nine month old and afterwards until I got home and then in December, she took my nine year old for three days while I was in the hospital with the baby. So we do things for each other, but three boys is a lot of work, but hey, that is what sisters are for.

Leave a Reply

