Posted in Uncategorized

Another of those sappy “they grow up so fast” posts



I wouldn’t say it if it wasn’t true, but I am truly feeling sad. Last night, my nine year old dragged me to Wal-Mart so that he could buy an MP3 player with his own money. He has asked for one on many occasions and I didn’t give in because I didn’t feel he was responsible enough to care of it.

It occurred to me yesterday that he was more than capable of taking care of it, learning how to use it, and, as I mentioned, paying for it. I look at my nine year old and I see someone that makes me so proud. I am genuinely lucky that I have a child who is well-behaved and well-mannered. He always tries his best, helps out at home, is polite to adults and kind to small children and animals. What more could I ask for?

I watched him as we drove home. That is something I do a lot these days. It amazes how fast he is growing up and how mature is he getting. Also, the more I watch him the more I realize how fast the days go by.

Nine years ago, I took him home from the hospital. He was so tiny and fragile. The long road ahead of us seemed scarier than anything I could have ever imagined. Looking at how far we have come, I see that our journey is halfway through and soon, he will be off to college and on his own. (Wow – and I thought taking care of baby was scary.)

I teach my children to be the best they can be every time and all the time. I remind them that I am always proud of them and that all I want is for them is to try their best and to grow up be decent human beings. While, yes, perhaps, some where in this Super Mom’s mind, I want my children to be successful, but success is different to everyone. I remind them that I love them everyday and that I am always here for them.

I am sure this is not the last of these posts you will see from me. Feel free to make bets on how long before you see the next teary eyed/proud mama post. Well, until next time.

I See Me & I Hope you Dance

Leave a Reply

