Posted in 24, Jack Bauer, Tony Almeida

Jack Bauer and Me – All Alone


I am huge 24 fan, but my husband isn’t so I watch Jack Bauer save the day all by my lonesome. I mean, who is not a fan of the show? Who doesn’t wonder what Jack Bauer is going to do next? We joined Jack a few months back in Africa in the 24 movie “Redemption”. Jack was surely missed by me and well, by all Jack Bauer fans alike. In Redemption, our hero, Jack Bauer, has been spending his time in Africa helping a friend run a school for boys of a “made up” worn-torn country. After the saving the day, he is forced to head back to the states to answer to a subpoena before the United States Congress.

Now comes season seven where Jack is in front of Congress who is investigating his past acts of torture. Jack is not apologetic and absolutely melts my heart when he tells Congress: “It’s better that everything comes out in the open. We’ve done so many things in the name of protecting this country, we’ve created two worlds. Ours and the people’s we’ve promised to protect. They deserve to hear the truth and decide how far they want to let us go.” And my husband had to peel me off the fall when he said: ”But please, don’t sit there with that smug look on your face, sir, and expect ME to regret the decisions I’ve made, because I DON’T.”

Jack’s testimony is interrupted by an FBI subpoena in which Jack is called in to deal with yet-another international crisis taking place a few blocks away. (Poor Jack, he never gets a break. He has saved the world how many times?) Some extremist group has created a device that controls the U.S. infrastructure including the skies and threatens to organize a series of plane crashes if their demands are not met. The master mind of the operation turns out to be none other than Tony Almeida who died in Jack Bauer’s arms two seasons (3 years) ago. We later find that Tony is working deep cover (Hurray! Tony is still good!) with the help of Chloe O’Brien and Bill Buchanan.

The show still has 20 hours to entice my husband and other non-24 fans in, but in the meantime, it will be Jack Bauer, me and a remote. What could be better? However, as much as Jack and I enjoy our time “alone”, this doesn’t mean that I won’t continue to recruit more 24 fans before the season ends. Come on folks, if you aren’t watching, get to it.

One thought on “Jack Bauer and Me – All Alone

Leave a Reply

