A Story of Courage and How Mesothelioma Touched My Life


Heather’s Story

I recently received an email from Cameron Von St. James who one day found himself caregiver to his wife, Heather, who was diagnosed with a very rare and deadly form of cancer called mesothelioma. These two people are truly amazing souls and the odds that they beat were remarkable and I am not just referring to the cancer. How they got through this together is an amazing feat as well.

I wish I could share more about Heather and James but I can barely get through their site without finding myself in tears.  What I can tell you, however, is that Heather is a survivor and she beats the odds. Her story is positive because she was and continues to be hopeful.  She wanted to beat the odds and beat cancer and she did.  Heather has now made it her mission it personal mission to raise awareness about this awful disease and to bring hope to those experiencing similar hard times.

I was asked to share Heather’s story and I am more than happy to.  You can find out about Heather at www.mesothelioma.com/heather but be prepared with tissues.

How Mesothelioma Touched My Life

As many of you know, mesothelioma has touched my life and it is a part of my life that is hard to talk to about.  It was about this time three years ago that my brother was admitted to the hospital. He did not leave the hospital after that because he was told that he had six months to live.  There was surgery at the end of November that was supposed to give us more time with him but he was too far gone to have survived following the surgery.  He lived less than a month after that.  It was on December 20, 2010 that his battle with peritoneal mesothelioma ended.

I wanted to become an activist and fight against asbestos use but it was never that easy for me.  For everything I have been through in my life, my brother’s cancer was the hardest and it continues to be.  It is one of those things that I continue to push aside so I don’t have to think about how he suffered and how we quickly lost him. Grief over the loss of a loved one doesn’t go away overnight or over weeks or even over years.  That grief often lasts a lifetime.

But I am so happy when I hear about a story of survival from mesothelioma. I am happy for the survivor and I am happy for their loved ones. Do I wish that my brother was survivor and that he was still here? Sure I do but I know that God only takes the good ones young.  And my brother’s memory lives in his mother, his siblings and his nieces and nephews. And I am going to leave it at this because my glasses are getting wet and foggy from my tears. Rest in Peace my dear brother. If you only knew how missed you were.

One thought on “A Story of Courage and How Mesothelioma Touched My Life

  1. Pingback: Cancer Story #1–Heather von St. James-Mesothelioma Survivor | Crazywonderfullife

Leave a Reply

