Blocked


The writer’s block has come back and I am trying to prepare an article about how chronic illness changes our lives.  The words will flow again.  The article is not due until next Tuesday.  I am a bit overwhelmed these past few weeks so I am sure that some of that is contributing to the writer’s block.

I feel like I am blocked in other ways as well – mostly emotionally and spiritually.  I am in the process of closing a chapter in my life and well, it is long overdue, it is still difficult to do.  The fact is life never works out the way we plan or we hope or we dream.  We kind of just have to be happy with the cards we have been dealt and sometimes that means letting go.

One of the hardest things anyone has to do is let go.  There are many things that we find that we have to let go of – people, situations, things, relationships and even characteristics about ourselves.  Forming an attachment is easy but dealing with letting go is so very hard.  It would be difficult for us to form attachments if we knew ahead of time we would have to let go.  Just the thought of knowing that we would have to let go of someone or something we hold dear is painful enough.

Letting go becomes necessary when situations have reached an impasse and we find that we have to let go in order to fulfill happiness or own life paths. When the time comes, we have to move forward and pick up the pieces.  If we refuse to let go and move forward, we won’t learn anything and we certainly will be miserable the long term, if we aren’t already.  Leaving our old selves behind helps us to realize who we really are.

The truth life isn’t always wonderful or beautiful or great. Sometimes, life isn’t the way we want it to be or the way we expect it to be.  I think when I lay my plans out God laughs at me and says with a chuckle, “Life won’t be the way you want it to go.  Your plans won’t work out as you planned. But everything with work out the way it is supposed to.  After all, I would never give you what you can’t handle.”

I am blocked but not just with the writing but also with my spiritual and emotional well-being.   I am struggling to find a new normal because my old normal just didn’t work for me.  What I have learned that even when good times seem long time and happiness is taking its sweet time, if I told on to the roller coaster long enough, I will find what I am looking for at the end of the wild ride.

I am learning daily to cherish change and to look at hardship as something that makes me strong and wiser. Tough times also help me to stay grounded and understand that not every day will be great but as long I keep move forward, I will keep progressing. And I have said it before, and I will say it again, I am a work in progress and I will keep moving forward.

There are things that we never want to let go of, people we never want to leave behind. But keep in mind that letting go isn’t the end of the world, it’s the beginning of a new life.– Author Unknown

lifeaintalwaysbeautiful

4 thoughts on “Blocked

  1. I understand letting go of the most important people in my life. My daughter hasn’t spoken to me in a year and won’t let me see my granddaughter. All because of this illness. I’ve lost everything dear. I understand.

    • Hello Penny, I am sorry to hear that your relationship with your daughter is strained. I hope that things get better between the two of you. Family is important.

  2. Sometimes it is not easy to do the right thing. I am impressed by your commitment to push onward no matter what the obstacles are. I hope you are unblocked soon.

    • Thanks Terry. I have learned that moving forward is the only option. My children look up to me and I want them to have a strong role model.

Leave a Reply

