#HAWMC Day 5: Ekphrasis Post: Peace and Beauty


Today’s Prompt. Go to flickr.com/explore and write a post inspired by the image. Can you link it to your health focus? Don’t forget to post the image!

This photo is titled The Colours of Autumn. The waterfall is located in the Japanese Garden of Tasmania’s Botanical Gardens and is so beautifully designed and peaceful.

This photo stood out to me because at this point in my health journey, I finally see beauty and peace all around me. The past year was of emotional growth for me.  Peace came when I least expected to. It came when I was all cried out and when the laughter was the only thing available to me.  I have cried for what I have lost in the past few years including former good health and my brother.  I have cried as a result of my weaknesses and failures. I have learned that I am all human and the obstacles I have overcome are proof that.  When all was said and done, I laughed because I had run out of tears and also because I finally saw the light at the end of the tunnel.

All I know is that peace comes to us when we least expect it. The hardships I have endured have forced me to look inside and to find peace within myself and to actually see the beauty around me. Peace and beauty can come in the form of trees swaying in the wind, a smile from a friendly face or in the sound of children laughing.  We have to make the effort to look for opportunities of peace and beauty that are all around us. The moments that we seek allow us to see that life can be good despite all the wrong in the world.

In all the chaos that became my life over the past few years and since chronic illness became a part of it, I started to find bits and pieces of the beauty and peace that I had been desperately seeking.  However, I didn’t always understand what that meant and that was because I had such a busy life that I often lost track of what I was looking for.  

These days I know that finding peace means looking more compassion and integrity in daily life. I see beauty in all that humanity offers. I can find in a friendly smile, laughter, in doing good deeds and in watching others do good deeds.  There is good in the world but it is not always easy to see when the bad seems to impact us more than the good.  Finding beauty and peace means merely taking the time to enjoy the simplicity that life has to offer.

Life has beautiful moments of peace and these are the moments that stand still.  It is our choice to decide if we want to see them, experience them and embrace them.  My health journey would not have come full circle if I had not taken this opportunity so see the beauty of life and how the world around is so beautifully and peacefully illustrated.  I have learned that the path to peace is always available to us but we have to be willing to open up our hearts to understand the precise message we are given.  It has taken me a long time to fully understand and grasp this message but I am glad that I finally have.  Maybe it is a choice or stronger belief in the Almighty but I am finally making sense of all the chaos that is my life.   

 

One thought on “#HAWMC Day 5: Ekphrasis Post: Peace and Beauty

Leave a Reply

